Love At First Sight

Not Just Another Romcom

IMΛBӨПG FΛMIПЦ
4 min readSep 17, 2024
Image From IMDb

I love movies and consider myself something of a movie afficionado. We all love good stories don’t we? and movies are a great way to interact with great storytelling. I do ‘Netflix & Chill’ every now and then which affords me the opportunity to watch some great movies. Netflix has some really good book adaptations that have done very well. One of my most recent favorites is a movie titled Love At First Sight. In my review on Instagram (movie.roundtable), I mentioned that the name almost put me off from watching as I suspected it might be another predictable romcom storyline. But, I gave it a chance and found it to be great.

Some might call it quaint but, I found it delightful. There is so much to love in this movie and I will be sharing my favorite things about it in a bit. But first, let’s do a quick synopsis.

Love At First Sight is a 2023 Romantic Comedy based on a novel by Jennifer E. Smith titled The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight starring Haley Lu Richardson and Ben Hardy as leads. The story begins with Hadley (Richardson) who is famously late and has missed her flight to London. Her father is getting married and she is working through her mixed feelings about her parent’s divorce. Her predicament is twice compounded by the fact that her phone battery is dead. Thankfully, she is rebooked on the next…

--

--